Cool vintage stuff…

I am always on the lookout for period items to build into the car but they have to be at the right price – i.e not a ludicrous overhyped price just because they are old. With this mind-set, I had a very enjoyable day at the Beaulieu International Autojumble. I had a few things on my list to keep an eye out for. Last year I found a genuine pair of driving gauntlets (the ones with the huge wide cuffs) and an exceedingly cheap pair of driving goggles that will need a little loving to be usable. This year I know more about what is cheap, what is genuine vintage and what is nigh on fraudulent. I had a great day and could have spent a lot of money, but I purposely didn’t take very much with me.

However I got 3 great finds… a pair of aluminium step plates with “Riley” moulded into them (needed to climb over the side of the car into the seats), a genuine pair of period racing windscreens (oh yeah!!!!) which merely need the glass replacing and finally an original alloy ‘lever’ style radiator cap as used on the Bentleys. All the above are rare items which I negotiated down to a good price.

The radiator cap has been restored with very nicely polished aluminium which for me is a pity as now I have to age it again… I love these caps… you can very quickly undo them when the engine is hot without burning yourself

Replacing the broken glass will cost me £14… so it was well worth buying the windscreen as a broken item… I have to wonder just how efficient a 12″ wide windscreen actually is – one day I will find out. I rather suspect I will be needing the goggles 🙂

I will post a picture of the step plates another day – they are in the garden being “aged”….

Leave a Reply

